Learning & Development


Angels Nursery adheres to The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) which covers the Learning, Development and Welfare of children from birth to five, as set out by The Department for Education.

Nursery Kettering

The Four Guiding Principles of the EYFS that shape our practice are:

Unique Child.png

A Unique Child - every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationship.png

Positive Relationships - Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and /or a key person.

Enabling Environments.png

Enabling Environments - The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children's development and learning.

Learning and Development.png

Learning and Development - Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.

The EYFS comprises 7 Areas of Learning and Development.

All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.
Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children's curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

These three areas, the Prime Areas are:

Communication and Language

Development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

Physical Development

Involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children are helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

Personal, Social & Emotional Development

Involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others. To develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.

Children are also supported in four Specific Areas, through which the three Prime Areas are strengthened and applied.

These Specific Areas are:


Development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children are given access to a wide range of reading materials to ignite their interest, such as books, poems and other written materials.


Involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces and measures.

Understanding the World

Involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

Expressive Arts and Design

Involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play and design and technology.

Progress check

Between age two and three years each child’s progress will be reviewed to identify any areas where progress is less than expected. A short written summary will be provided for parents/carers highlighting achievements and how any issues will be addressed.

Weekly planning for each age group is posted in our two entrances to inform parents of activities for that week, through which the EYFS is being delivered.